A Day Without

 Rare as they are, there are a few days in which I leave before my kids are up and return after they have gone to bed. Perhaps this is not much of an oddity for some, but for me it is a big deal. Tomorrow, I will leave again for work before they arise, so the next time I see my children will be when I get home. They will have gone two days without me in their life.

On the other hand, there are plenty of days (usually one per week) when I get up with the kids and have them, minus a half day of school for the older one, all day long until they go to bed.

I guess it balances out in the end.

When my daughter was young, I fretted about the days I wasn’t around. I felt it would damage our relationship, but as time progresses, I am not at all concerned about that. I have put so much time in, that a day here or there does not have a major impact. It is even good for there to be days when Mommy and Daddy are not around.

I still miss them on these days, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fathering

Leave a Reply

