Our List Doesn’t Matter

I just finished watching TiMer, a movie about how having a timer that tells you when you meet your true love affects people’s perception of love. In the end, the protagonist has her timer removed after it tells her the person, and the movie ends wonderfully ambiguously.

Today I took a nap; I never take naps. Today, however, I was so exhausted from many nights of our son teething and spastic appliances beeping in the middle of the night, and… The list goes on. And our lists don’t matter. Every parent of young children has a list. Job stress, relationship worries, car on the fritz. Whatever it is, we all have stressors in our lives, and having children can just amplify the stress to a new, higher level.

Luckily today, my son took a long afternoon nap and my daughter got that I was beyond tired. Perhaps because I was on the verge of tears when she woke me up the third time. After that, I got a really good nap. It made the whole dinner, bath, bed routine so much more doable than it would have been otherwise, yet I was still cranky.

It doesn’t really matter that  I know what is pushing me, it is the choices I make in the moment that matter, and today I made a few stinkers. Tomorrow’s another day and another chance to do it right.

Leave a comment

Filed under health

Leave a Reply

