In Deep Water

Today, I got back in the pool for the first time since December. I have found that swimming laps, while not as entertaining as biking or running, is really good exercise and not too hard on my body. One issue I had when I started swimming more last year was that my neck was getting sore from breathing during breast stroke, and I could not maintain freestyle as long as I wanted. In talking to my uncle who swims daily, he recommended using a snorkel. I could really spend some effort in learning the correct breathing techniques, but even then, I don’t think I’d be able to relax my neck as I swam. So, snorkel it is.

Luckily I don’t mind being to goofiest looking person swimming laps. Today, I got in the pool amidst a few odd glances and swam. I swam more in the time I allotted myself than I usually did when I had been swimming for a while. Not having to pick my body out of the water or rotate to breath really helped. Also, when I got winded, I could slow down and breathe as I needed which allowed me to keep swimming even while taking it slow. I put in a solid half hour and feel great for it. Tomorrow may seem a little different, but I am relishing it now.

Why does my renewed exercise merit talk on a blog about parenting? Having entered the role of father later than many, I want to be in shape and healthy as much as I reasonably can so that I can experience my children’s lives as fully as possible. Of course there are many things I have no control over, but I can take better care of the body I have. Also, I want to consistently model an active life with value placed on fitness. When I am exercising, I feel better, and my parenting reflects that. I have more patience and humor. If I don’t exercise regularly, I might just find myself in deep water.

2 Comments

Filed under health

2 responses to “In Deep Water

  1. ROGER ALAN SMITH

    HELLO DAN: WELCOME TO THE BUBBLE CLUB! I HAVE BEEN IN MIAMI FOR ABOUT 4 WEEKS AND MIGHT HAVE MISSED 4 DAYS IN THE POOL. SINCE I HAVE BEEN AT IT FOR QUITE SOME TIME, IT IS EASIER FOR ME TO CATCH UP TO MY USUAL DISTANCE. YOU HAVE TO WORK UP GRADUALLY TO REACH A SUSTAINABLE GOAL. I HAVE EVEN CONSULTED WITH MY DOCTOR (I JUST FINISHED AN EXCELLENT PHYSICAL EXAM) AND WE AGREED ON A TARGET HEART RATE TO MAINTAIN. MY TRICK IS TO SWIM 3-4 LAPS DOING THE CRAWL FAIRLY HARD AND REACH THAT TARGET, THEN ALTERNATE LAPS ONE CRAWL WITH ONE BREAST STROKE WHICH I CAN USE TO KEEP MY HEART RATE IN THE TARGET RANGE. THAT WAY I CAN REALLY PUSH MYSELF ON THE CRAWL LAPS AND CONTROL IT WITH THE BREAST STROKE LAPS. THE SNORKEL MAKES ALL THE DIFFERENCE. I HAVE NOTICED THAT WHERE I AM SWIMMING (L A FITNESS GYM CLOSE TO HOME), 80% OF THE PEOPLE ARE IN WORSE SHAPE THAN I AM IN AND VERY FEW SWIM THE DISTANCE I DO. EXERCISE IS DEFINITELY PART OF A HEALTHY LIFE-STYLE, BUT ANOTHER JUST AS IMPORTANT IS WHAT WE EAT AND HOW MUCH. WHEN I ARRIVED IN CALIFORNIA ON DEC. 20 I WEIGHED 198LBS AND WHEN I GOT TO MIAMI ABOUT 4 WEEKS AGO I WAS UP TO 210! I STARTED EATING PROPERLY AND HAVE BEEN AT THE POOL REGULARLY AND THIS MORNING THE WEIGHT WAS 194LBS. THIS WILL BE THE FIRST TIME I RETURN HOME WEIGHING LESS THAN WHEN I LEFT. IT IS A MATTER OF MAKING UP ONE’S MIND; THEN IT IS ALL EASY. KEEP IT UP AND YOU WILL REAP A GREAT REWARD FOR YEARS TO COME. LOVE UNCLE ROGER

  2. I have officially been dissed at one of the pools. They have a no snorkel policy. Hopefully the other one will not.

Leave a Reply

