It’s Not Fair, It’s Two Fairs!

Today, because of tomorrow’s busy schedule, was our unofficial Mother’s Day. I got up with the kids to give my wife a sleep in which lasted until almost 10:30 when I had to go to my daughter’s school to do my job selling stuff during the school fair.

Before that, shortly after my kids were stirring, the school across the street started setting up their fair. Yup, two fairs in one day. My daughter was glued to the window as they inflated two play structures right in front of our house. I got my son down for his nap before the music started blasting, and he continued his nap after I left.

My wife showed up with the kids at the end of my job, and we hung out at the fair for a while. However, the early morning and crowd of people finally wore me out, and I headed home with my son, who was also showing signs of needing some quiet.

Well, that is where our friendly neighborhood school fair really came into play. I got my son in bed, and shortly after someone grabbed the mike to shout about prizes and dropping prices of sale items. The blaring music seemed not to bother my son, but this woman, I think it is the same one each year, cut through his beginning nap and got him fussing.

I think I forget how difficult the afternoon is after the fair ends. Each year, we have had quite a disastrous aafternoon napping experience. One year they even had the speakers pointed right at our house instead of at the crowd. When I asked them to point them elsewhere, they tried to argue that the sound was better bounding off of my house. Needless to say, I insisted that being targeted by a sonic weapon was not the idea of neighborliness.

After we but the kids to bed, my wife and I are heading out to see a play/musical. Hope that is fair recognition of Mother’s Day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun, partnering

Leave a Reply

