It’s Academic, My Dear Watson

What is academic are both my wife’s and my schedule. This means that we have parts of the summer to be with our children, but it also means that right now is one of the craziest times of the year. Because we are both part time, the demands of the end of year scheduling at schools becomes challenging. There are days normally off that become mandatory and conflict with the other schedule. Add to that our daughter’s school schedule, and it is a merry dance through the days of early June.

Graduations, conferences, projects, and more all clamor for our attention; and in the midst of it there are our children. How I respond to them in the midst of this chaos is important. I can’t just pretend that it is not there; instead, I need to let go of great swathes of it and focus on calmly doing my best with the rest.

We’ll see how that goes.

1 Comment

Filed under partnering

One response to “It’s Academic, My Dear Watson

Leave a Reply

