Beet That

One of my good friends has a kick ball party on the Fourth each year, and I regularly am a complete wimp when it comes to my potluck contributions. This year, however, I was determined to do better and include my daughter in the cooking.

Looking in the fridge, I saw a half head of cabbage and beets from our farm share and punched those ingredients into Epicurious to see what I might have on hand. I settled on a cabbage and beet slaw recipe that I would modify with ingredients I had on hand.

I peeled the raw beets and sliced up the green onions before my daughter got to the kitchen. Peelers and sharp knives are not in her repertoire, yet. Together we measured out oil, balsamic vinegar and horseradish. We whisked them together, added the green onions and then fed the beets into the food processor to shred them. After adding the beets to the bowl, she watched as I cut up and cooked the cabbage briefly. My daughter then enjoyed helping mix all of the ingredients together.

Usually when she gets involved in a food project, she enjoys eating the result. This one, however, she was not too keen to try. Maybe it was just too purple. I thought it was pretty good for the first time with a recipe.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “Beet That

  1. Sounds awesome. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I like the recipe as it uses beets raw. I prefer that to cooked ones.

  3. Another delicious recipe for beets! And prefect for the summer months 🙂

    Come and add your link to this week’s link party..http://inherchucks.com/2012/07/05/whats-in-the-box-33/. Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

