Spontaneous Serendipity

Recently, we have been taking outings of a less planned nature, and the results have been good. The trip to IKEA was not very planned. Since then, I have taken my daughter to the beach, and on Saturday, we all walked to Davis Square where there happened to be a street fair going on.

The beach trip was an attempt to get my wife some work time. I took my daughter out to the beach, a trip that involves three different trains. While there, we saw the remains of a sand sculpture contest that had been eroded by a rainstorm, lots of shells and rocks, people, and quite a bit of trash. The trash did not bother my daughter as she happily focused on all the good things, so I did, too. One reason I love this beach is the abundance of shells and the low height of the waves. My daughter is not scared at all of the water, and it is warm enough for her to enjoy. She had a great morning of it.

The street fair was a stroke of luck. We just needed to get out of the house before dinner time to combat the crankiness that was building. I had to pick up my bike from getting a tune up, so we walked to the bike store. On the way, we encountered a very nice arts street fair with a Brazilian drumming group performing as we walked up. We walked the stalls, saw nice local art, and distracted the kids for a while from their growing tiredness. Mission accomplished.

Looking for things to do and making sure to see the good things is important, but so is the spontaneous decision to go somewhere and enjoy what is there. Recently we have been doing that and have been amply rewarded.

Leave a comment

Filed under activities

Leave a Reply

