In the Pool

When I was a child, I took swimming lessons at the large, public pool in the large public park near my house. Being at the pool was a ritual part of summer in St. Louis. It was one of the only places one could keep cool and not spend money.

On Saturday, we took the kids for the second day in a row to the Richmond Heights pool. It is an amazing indoor play space for kids. It has a soft floor, lots of structures, and a lazy river. My kids got wet and had fun! My son went down a slide, got a full face of water, and got up fine from it. I don’t know how I had the time and freedom to swim as much as I did during the summer, and I don’t know how to get my own kids in the water enough to be comfortable swimming in it.

Leave a comment

Filed under activities

Leave a Reply

