The Garden Winds Down

The sunflowers have finally come down. I noticed that the smaller one was bent over and devoured. Because the corn was devoured the day before I was going to harvest the remaining ears, I decided to not let whatever had done the damage to come back and consume our last remaining sunflower. Many seeds had already fallen or been devoured by birds.

I was amazed at how hard the tall stem was and how heavy the base of the flower was. These were magnificent plants! Thursday, my daughter and I will remove the remaining seeds from the flower. This leaves us with two squash left on the vine. Perhaps they are ours; perhaps they belong to the animals. We shall see.

Leave a comment

Filed under activities, Food

Leave a Reply

