In the Same Room

My children sleep in the same room and have done so for some time now. In the morning, my son wakes up between 6 and 6:30 and begins the day with a fairly low key babbling. This amps up eventually to a clear communication of desire to leave the crib and start the active part of the day. Screams, pacifier tossing, and banging the crib against the wall ensue if we don’t get to him in time.

My daughter sleeps through the earlier stages of this and then tries to calm him down as he winds up. This morning, she started by telling him about her friend the female astronaut who will take them on her rocket ship. When that didn’t hold his attention, she started singing songs.

When she decided that waiting for her color changing clock was not in the cards, my daughter just started yelling, “Mommy,” and my son joined in. With earplugs firmly in, my wife slept through this, so I got up and started the day earlier than I had wanted and grumpier than I should have been.

There are many benefits of the two of them sharing a room, but the amplification of noise in the morning is not one of them.

Leave a comment

Filed under routines

Leave a Reply

