The Reality of Mortality

These last few days has pushed my own mortality front and center as happens now and then. The death of a staff member at school, my wife’s bruising encounter with a shopping cart (she is recovering well), and meeting with a financial planner who went into life insurance and other topics around our eventual passing all have combined to put that mirror right in front of my face.

There were times in my life when this would throw me. It doesn’t seem to be doing so now, and I think a lot of it has to do with the satisfaction I have at home and at work. I am grateful for the opportunity to have this balance between home and work, and I am grateful to have an amazing wife and children. I hope to be around for quite a while to experience more of this, but I am pretty ok with my mortality.

Leave a comment

Filed under positive thinking

Leave a Reply

