Veggies: Fascinating and Foolish

In the last week, there have been some interesting encounters with veggies. At the CSA, there were a few heads of Romanesco broccoli. The amazing fractal geometry of these veggies entrances me every time.

As my son and I cleared out the year’s garden, I discovered the last beet of the year, but I also found a valiant if foolish tomato plant. I didn’t plant it this year, but it is where I tried to grow some last year. Last year’s plants didn’t even flower. This one not only has a flower, but it has a miniature, green fruit that will not survive the inevitable frost that is days away from killing the plant. Silly, silly tomato!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

