Thursday’s Bounty

Potatoes and kale from the farm, fruit reduction from the school.

Evidently, Thursday is the day that the food pantry at my daughter’s school decides to put out about-to-spoil food for anyone passing through to take. On Thursdays the food has been from Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s, and this week it included strawberries, raspberries, figs, and salsa. I took the fruits and made a reduction of them with balsamic vinegar and brown sugar.  While my daughter was eating a piece of Halloween candy for desert, and I gave her a taste of the reduction on some cut bananas. It was so good that my daughter made me promise to leave some for her the next day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

