Voting: important but not everything

I remember canvassing for candidates when I was a child. Going to people’s doors with my mom and asking them to vote was exciting. I also remember stepping into the voting booth, the smells, the ballots, the sense of power.

My wife took my daughter to the polling place near our house after I returned from voting. At least my daughter has seen our steady commitment to voting. I think, however, I have fallen a bit short on the rest of my civic duty to be an engaged citizen. That is something to remedy fast in a way that is approachable and visible to my kids.

Leave a comment

Filed under activities

Leave a Reply

