Yellow Means Sleep

Sunday started at 5:00 in the morning. My son has taken to waking up then regardless of how dark it is outside or how asleep the rest of the house is. He is convinced it is time to get up. I pulled him from the room before he could wake my daughter and put her in a grumpy mood for the day. We quietly went downstairs where I gave him some milk and cereal and pondered a day starting at 5:00. I just wasn’t ready for that, so I made him a “bed” on the carpet. I put a blanket and pillow down and asked him to lie down. He did, and I put another blanket over him while telling him that the clock had not yet turned green. We have a clock in the kids’ room that turns green at 7:00, our hoped for wake up time. It was still yellow, so I told my son yellow means sleep some more. He did not sleep, but he did get into the idea of resting. He rested in the makeshift bed, he rested on the armchair, he rested his head on my legs, he rested all over the place. I think this is a step in the right direction.

Leave a comment

Filed under routines

Leave a Reply

