Blowing in the Wind

The other day as I tried to stretch out the kids’ bath, I sang to them. I often sing through the beginning of bath time when I am soloing the evening routine. I created a book of my favorite songs, and I just flip through it. Blowing in the Wind came up. I felt it spoke deeply to the recent tragedy in Connecticut.

How many roads most a man walk down
Before you call him a man ?
How many seas must a white dove sail
Before she sleeps in the sand ?
Yes, how many times must the cannon balls fly
Before they’re forever banned ?
The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

Yes, how many years can a mountain exist
Before it’s washed to the sea ?
Yes, how many years can some people exist
Before they’re allowed to be free ?
Yes, how many times can a man turn his head
Pretending he just doesn’t see ?
The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

Yes, how many times must a man look up
Before he can see the sky ?
Yes, how many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry ?
Yes, how many deaths will it take till he knows
That too many people have died ?
The answer my friend is blowin’ in the wind
The answer is blowin’ in the wind.

I am glad that I sing this and other songs to my kids. I hope it is one small piece of a better world.

As I write this on Wednesday night, I am packing us up for a flight to see my folks. We will be blowing in the wind with a layover in Milwaukee.  This is my first solo parenting flight with a stop and plane change. I am usually worn out by the direct flight. However, my son is older, so that might make things better. When we get there, I may be blown over by the wind.

1 Comment

Filed under travel

One response to “Blowing in the Wind

  1. Perry

    I like that song. It seems like a good song for singing to kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

