Retroactive

So the 24th was my birthday, and I did not publish a post. This one is retroactive.

I went out with a friend who was one of the two folks who scoured the town on my 21st to find an open bar for my first legal drink. We ended up getting a six-pack at a corner grocery because everything else was closed down on Christmas Eve. I wasn’t even carded until my two friends dragged me back in and demanded that the ritual be observed. This many years later, there are many businesses open in the evening on my birthday. While some see this as the attack on Christmas, I love it. Regardless, I was able to have dinner with my wife and spend some time with a good friend who has been there for many of my birthdays over the years.

I wonder how my own kids will approach this major milestone and how they will handle things like alcohol. I was very late on the scene and only really tested my limits in my sophomore year in college. I never touched it in high school. I think I was an exception, but I really don’t know. Who will be my kids’ friends when they are experimenting. What will their safety net be. I hope they have as good friends as I did however they go about the experiences of growing up.

Leave a comment

Filed under development

Leave a Reply

