One Step Back

Saturday arrived on the croupy cough of my son. I don’t remember him ever getting this cough the way my daughter does each illness. It is a ghastly sound that made us frantically call the doctor and go in for a visit the first time we heard it with my daughter. While it is not background noise, it is also not too alarming anymore.

My son seemed to be riding out this round of colds pretty well, but this morning heralded in a step back for the family. Not only was he clingy and coughing, but my daughter who only went back to school on Friday also was out of sorts. That one day really knocked her back.

My wife took the early morning shift, and for that I am very thankful. I wasn’t able to get myself to sleep until about 2 or 3 in the morning, so I was exhausted when the coughing started just before 6:00. I did get a morning in bed, and then my wife was off to her recording session.

What to do with two sick kids? The same thing we always do, at least for the last few days. They sat in recliners in our bedroom watching nature shows while I cleaned some more. If they stay ill much longer, the whole house may be cleaned!

Leave a comment

Filed under health

Leave a Reply

