Modeling Mistakes

As a teacher I often tell my students that mistakes are crucial for learning and that some of the best ideas come from mistakes. I model making mistakes on a regular basis both at home and at school. I try to be open about them when they happen and take them in stride. Sunday was a wonderful opportunity to share my ability to make mistakes. A while ago when on a cleaning binge, I managed to move the bed back into place and snap off a coaxial cable connector. I haven’t gotten around to fixing it, but on Sunday I gave it a shot. It turns out I got the wrong connector at Radio Shack, so all my prep was for naught. Luckily, my brother-in-law has a coax connector kit that I am now borrowing for my next attempt at repairing my mistake. The whole process, done with minimum of frustration, hopefully models something positive. I know that in other instances I am not always able to stay calm and take positive ownership of my mistakes, so I am happy when I do a good job of it.

Leave a comment

Filed under House Projects

Leave a Reply

