Thursday is Cookie Day!

One of my favorite baking activities from childhood was making ginger cookies. I looked up different recipes and used one from Epicurious as a starting point. I had the ingredients sitting around for a while, and the opportunity presented itself on Thursday. After dropping off my daughter to school, I went home and made the dough. As other recipes suggest, and from my childhood memory, I then chilled it in order to make forming the cookies more easily. Another memory helped out as well. When measuring the molasses, I oiled the measuring cup, and the sticky liquid just poured right out.

After picking up my daughter and putting my son down for a nap, we got started on making the cookies. I scooped the dough out and dropped it in a bowl of granulated sugar. She picked the blob up, rolled it into a ball, and placed it on a cookie sheet. The house smelled amazing as they cooked and cooled, and we had a treat at dinner. My daughter brought one to her chorus teacher that afternoon and is excited to share them with her teachers at school.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food

Leave a Reply

