Not Your Job

My daughter has a constant stream of sound coming from her mouth. Sometimes it is singing, sometimes it is talking, and sometimes it is just sound for sound’s sake. She often repeats herself multiple times, and she repeats me and my wife. These can get wearing, but I have noticed one of my buttons is when she parrots our directions to our son. She sets herself up as his parent, and I just don’t like it at all. I don’t want her later in life to feel that she had to take on the role of telling my son how to behave. We don’t want her to, but she seems to feel it is necessary. We have made it clear that it is not.

It also is a mirror into what we are telling both children about their behavior and choices. Sometimes that is not such an easy mirror to face, either.

Leave a comment

Filed under development

Leave a Reply

