Back to the Books

I recently have been haunting the local library. This is made easier by its location across the street from the house. I love ordering books to be delivered there, and I am beginning to address my long to-read list on Goodreads. This list includes books both for  me and for my kids. Right now we are reading Baxter, the Pig Who Wanted to Be KosherI was hoping to find a book that started explaining our family’s food choices, but the book does not really do that. It is a fun read, and it opens some questions up to discuss. We also have Dem Bones which is the song illustrated with a paragraph about each bone or joint mentioned in the song. Neither of these books knocks my socks off, but they are fun. My daughter loves them and asks my wife and me to read them over and over again. I also picked up I Need My Monster which tells the story of a kid whose monster under the bed takes a vacation. We’ll see if I should have read that one before bedtime. Overall, I like the book, but there is a gender reinforcer with all of the monsters being boys except the one with a pink bow on its tail. This leads the boy to demand a boy monster for boys. I really didn’t think the gender of a monster mattered, and honestly I am not sure I’d look to determine it if I ever met one. It’s like that difference between crocodiles and alligators. If one is chasing me it really doesn’t matter which kind it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

