Reentry

On Wednesday, my school held meetings for the teachers and staff and then for parents. During the parent meeting, there was childcare provided for the children of the parents. We were all working together to figure out how to have students reenter school on Thursday after the tragedy on Monday. My school is a mere block from the Boston Marathon finish line. Most of the families and many faculty live nearby, and their neighborhood is filled with media trucks, reporters, cameras, and law enforcement. On my way to school I saw many soldiers toting automatic weapons and rows of police barricades. This is a difficult environment for students to reenter school. Though no plan is perfect and all of the members of the staff are in different places with their process, I think the school is in a good place to move forward. I am warmed by the caring and thoughtfulness that was on display Wednesday as we worked together.

My daughter is on break right now, and so we have not had to deal with informing her of the incident. She saw my reaction to the Facebook check-ins and the subsequent information I gathered on the situation as it happened. I let her know that there was an accident near my school and that some people were hurt and that some people were helping out. Before Monday, though, my wife and I will need to fill her in on more details. There will be students in her class who have had unfiltered or only partially filtered access to media and know in detail what happened. We want to send her to school with the information and tools she needs to process this and be healthy.

1 Comment

Filed under Childcare, Education

One response to “Reentry

  1. You and Reena did a magnificent job.

Leave a Reply

