Changing of the Guard

For the last week or so, my mother has been staying with us. Her visits, spaced a few times a year, bring such a sense of relief. Aside from the monumental amounts of cooking, dishes and other chores she lifts from our shoulders for a short span (and I don’t discount the restorative powers of not having to do those things), she is amazing with the children. They love her, and they flourish in her presence. Every time she visits, I learn more about parenting.

This visit, she overlapped with the monthly visit from my father-in-law. He will be staying with us for an additional day after my mother leaves. My father-in-law has committed to and sustained this monthly trip from Philadelphia to Boston for the years now that we have had children, and this too is a gift. He has supported our family in many ways, but to me the most precious is the time he gives to my children. My kids will know and remember their Saba and their Grandma.

Leave a comment

Filed under family

Leave a Reply

