Toes in the Water

Revere Beach

Sand, shells, and rocks in abundance.

On Monday, my wife took my daughter to her five year checkup and then to school. This gave me the opportunity to take my son on a morning adventure without having to drop off my daughter to school first. We walked to the T and hopped on a succession of trains–red, green, and then blue–until we found ourselves at Revere Beach. Early in the morning, it is pretty empty, and the ocean was out to a very low tide. We took off our shoes and walked across the warm sand to the water’s edge where we laughed as the wavelets washed over our ankles. Revere is a great beach for kids with small waves, a very shallow incline which keeps the water shallow pretty far out, and an abundance of shells, rocks, and seaweed. Sometimes, it is a bit full of trash, but this early in the season it was reasonably clean. We walked just inside the wave’s furthest reach ensuring plenty of toe-covering splashes, and we dropped stones and shells in the butterfly backpack that my son insisted on carrying during this trip. After our walk along the beach, we took trains back to Cambridge to pick up my daughter from preschool and then headed home for lunch and nap. I write this as my son enters his second hour of sleep, and I hope I wore him out enough for a really nice, long nap–for him and for me.

“Toes in water, again?” was my son’s question as we headed away from the beach. You bet toes in the water again.

Leave a comment

Filed under activities, Nature

Leave a Reply

