One Seuss to Rule Them All

The new batch of books from the library arrived and an email politely informed me they were ready to pick up on Wednesday. When I arrived home, my daughter and I hunted through the house to find the ever growing number of books that seemed to enjoy hiding under pillows and between sofa cushions. Finally with them all in hand, we headed across the street to the library.

I have made a habit of selecting one Seuss book along with three other books. Recently, I have also tried to include a math or science book in the four as well. This time I somewhat succeeded in that and somewhat failed.

When Moon Fell Down is written by Linda Smith, author of our favorites Mrs. Biddlebox and The Inside Tree, and tells the story of the night the moon falls from the sky and enjoys a night on the town with his friend the cow. It is not as compelling as the other two, but it does include a very interesting conversation about perspective. The moon is seeing things from the ground for the first time, so we got to talk about what the moon would or would not see if it looked at my daughter, a car, and many other things.

The Golden Rule, by Ilene Cooper, is about the do right to others rule. It turns out she did not write the book Infinity and Me, but it has the same illustrator. Thus, it was not about the mathematical golden ratio. It does a nice job of exploring the idea through the lens of many different cultures and religions and has lovely illustrations as well. I have always found the golden rule somewhat lacking. “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” seems to say the motive for doing right is so that others will treat me right. Even as a child I did not feel that way. I felt that doing right is not for a positive response from others but because it is the right thing to do. Later in the book, a saying attributed to the Shawnee more accurately reflects my thoughts, “Do not kill or injure your neighbor, for it is not he or she that you injure; you injure yourself.”

The Beetle Book is my attempt to add some science to the pile. The illustrations are outstanding, and the text is interesting. There is just too much text for my daughter right now. We like looking at the drawings and talking about the beetles. She did pick up on some of the information, too.

Lastly, I went with And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street. I remembered the illustrations as soon as I opened the book, and my daughter seemed to enjoy the more exaggerated story that the boy contrives as he walks home.

Overall a good haul, and we have already read each book several times.

1 Comment

Filed under books

One response to “One Seuss to Rule Them All

Leave a Reply

