Moomins

Possibly my favorite books growing up were the Moomintroll series. Others certainly vie for an equal first, but the Moomins will always have a warm place in my heart. To my surprise, when I went to complete my set in readiness to read them to my own children, I found that there was one I had never read. The Moomins and the Great Flood is the first book in the series. Tove Jansson was just starting to build her world and populate it with the great creatures that became so familiar to me. Her sketches show the characters not quite what they come to be later, and the story is short and more disjointed than the others. It is, however, a gem.

I finished reading it to my daughter and son on Monday night, and my daughter’s reaction was a eager request to start the next book right away.

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

