A New First

At the Aquarium today, I decided that it was time to have my daughter try to use the bathroom by herself for the first time. We are approaching that age where bringing a five plus year-old into the men’s room gets a bit awkward. At first she was hesitant, but then she summoned up the courage and went in. The wait outside, accompanied by my son who wanted to pull my arm out of its socket, was very long, and I was getting worried. I was about to ask a mom headed in there to take a look for my daughter, when out she popped with a huge grin on her face. “That was a first,” she almost shouted, and her pride in her accomplishment was reward enough for the risk. “I even peed and washed my hands,” she said. I wonder what else she did in there. I guess that gap between my knowing and her doing is just going to widen and probably at an exponential rate.

We also saw these amazing jellies!

Leave a comment

Filed under development

Leave a Reply

