Psychotic Drivers

Today on the way home from picking up my daughter from her afterschool class, I pulled onto our one-way street as a line was forming to pick up students from the school across the street. There are often activities that end at different times, so lines can form on our street at odd hours. Usually a short wait is all it takes to get through the traffic. As I was moving toward the end of the line and slowing down, a car abruptly screeched out of the diagonal parking along one side of the street, swerved toward me, and accelerated. I honked my horn as there was no room for the car to pass on our one-way street. The driver of the car slammed on his brakes, cursed at me, and jammed on his accelerator again. I honked and tried to maneuver so there would be room for him to squeeze by, but he wouldn’t let me. He just kept accelerating and slamming on his breaks giving me no room to move. He kept yelling at me to let him out. I was scared and very angry that this jerk thought his time was so precious that my car, my health, and my daughter’s health was of no consequence. I eventually managed to get to the side of the road, and he passed me cussing and yelling. Both my daughter and I were pretty shaken up by the experience, and I tried to remain calm to explain the situation. Really, how do you explain maniac Boston drivers who seem determined to smash into your car to a 5 year-old? Luckily we are physically safe, but I am sure this incident will have ripples.

Leave a comment

Filed under health

Leave a Reply

